University of Minnesota Duluth
MyU | Search | People | Departments | Events | News
Home Academy of Science and Engineering
SCSE Academy of Science and Engineering: 2005 Inductees
2005 Academy of Science & Engineering

Left to Right: Chancellor Kathryn Martin,
Brian Kobilka, Kathleen Annette,
Dean James Riehl

Dr. Kathleen Annette: Bachelor of Arts – Chemistry 1977
Kathleen R. Annette is the Area Director of the Bemidji Area Indian Health Service, a position she has held since 1990. After she graduated from Red Lake High School, Dr. Annette earned a bachelors degree in chemistry from the University of Minnesota Duluth in 1979 and then an M.D from the University of Minnesota in 1983. After completing a family practice residency in Duluth in 1986, she was board certified and became a medical officer with the Indian Health Service (ISH) at Cass Lake, MN.

Dr. Annette’s C.V. is punctuated by many “firsts”. She is the first Minnesota Ojibwe woman to earn an M.D. and the first woman to serve in her current position. Dr. Annette is a member of the White Earth Band of Chippewa and a native of Minnesota. She has spent her entire professional career serving the medical needs of our region’s Indian population. The Bemidji Area Indian Health Service serves nearly 100,000 American Indians from 34 federally recognized tribes in Minnesota, Wisconsin and Michigan.

Dr. Annette serves on many boards and task forces and has been recognized numerous times for her excellent service, leadership and accomplishments. Among them are the 1993 U.S. Public Health Service Outstanding Service Award, 1998 Secretary’s Award for Distinguished Service from the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, 1999 Commendation from the Tribal Leaders of the Oklahoma Area IHS and the 2000 Presidential Award for meritorious executive performance.

Dr. Brian K. Kobilka: Bachelor of Science – Biology 1977; Bachelor of Science – Chemistry 1977
Brian K. Kobilka graduated Summa Cum Laude from UMD in 1977 with Bachelor of Science degrees in both biology and chemistry. He obtained his medical degree from Yale University School of Medicine in 1981, trained in internal medicine at Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis (1981-1984) and served as a research fellow (1984-1989) and assistant professor (1988-1989) at the Duke University School of Medicine. In 1989 Dr. Kobilka joined the faculty of the Stanford University School of Medicine where currently he is Professor of Medicine, and Molecular and Cellular Physiology.

Professor Kobilka has led the way in researching the physiology of adrenergic receptor subtypes, including signaling and intracellular trafficking in cardiac myocytes, particularly through the use of “knockout” mice. Adrenergic receptors form the interface between the sympathetic nervous system and the cardiovascular system and play a critical role in the regulation of cardiovascular function. Professor Kobilka initially cloned the first beta-adrenergic receptors in 1986, and contributed substantially to the establishment of modern molecular pharmacology. He has since pioneered direct biophysical studies of conformational changes in the receptors. Professor Kobilka has authored an impressive 124 publications in such high impact journals as Nature (6), Proceedings of the National Academy (14) and Science (4). His numerous awards and honors include the Nahum Prize for Thesis Research, the 1994 Syntex Prize in Receptor Pharmacology, the 1994 John Jacob Abel Award, the WSCI Young Investigator Award, a Howard Hughes fellowship, the 2004 Arthur H. Briggs Lectureship, and the prestigious 2005 Jacob Javits Award in the Neurosciences.

2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002
© 2016 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 12/08/15 05:10 PM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations