University of Minnesota Duluth
Search | People | Departments

 Office of Civic Engagement

About OCE Students Faculty Community Organizations


2013 Minnesota Campus Compact Awards
UMD’s Office of Civic Engagement is calling for civic engagement award nominations. University of Minnesota Duluth is a member institution of Minnesota Campus Compact. The Minnesota Campus Compact (MNCC) Awards provide an opportunity to give statewide recognition to effective leaders in the development of campus-community partnerships. Acknowledgment of outstanding collaborative work will not only inform and inspire tomorrow’s campus-community partnerships, but will also play a critical role in garnering support for higher education’s civic engagement initiatives. 

UMD MNCC Student Leadership Award

This award is for an individual student or a student organization that models a deepcommitment to civic responsibility and leadership, evidenced by initiative, innovative and collaborative approaches to addressing public issues, effective community building, and integration of civic engagement into the college experience. 

2013 recipient: Judy Breuer (pictured top right)

Judy Breuer

UMD MNCC Civic Engagement Steward Award

This award is for a member of the faculty, administration, or staff or for a group (e.g., advisory committee, task force, project team) that has significantly advanced theircampus’ distinctive civic mission by forming strong partnerships, supporting others’
civic engagement, and working to institutionalize a culture and practice of engagement.

2013 recipient: Mary Cameron (pictured middle right)

Mary Cameron

UMD MNCC Community Partner Award

This award is for a community-based organization that has enhanced the quality of life in the community in meaningful and measurable ways and has engaged in the development of sustained, reciprocal partnerships with the college or university, thus enriching educational as well as community outcomes.

2013 recipient: Duluth Area YMCA Community Services Department
(pictured bottom right)


Past recipients and nominees

Award Type


Student Recipient


Student Nominee(s)


Steward Recipient


Steward Nominee(s)


Community Partner Recipient


Community Partner Nominee(s)




Judy Breuer


KUMD 103.3 The Basement


Mary Cameron


Tom Beery

Shane Courtland

John Kratz

Mike Lalich - NRRI

Bob Sherman

Duluth YMCA Community Services Department


Shane Bauer - Twin Ports Bridge Festival

Kathy Bogen - Grant Community School Collaborative

Domestic Abuse Intervention Program



Office of Civic Engagement Student Coordinators



Beth Ruark


Shane Courtland

Char Harkins

Mike Mageau

PAL Project

Duluth Children's Museum





Latino Chicano Student Association


Neil Witzig


Bill Payne


Brenda Butterfield

Women's Studies Department

Professional Learning Circle



True North AmeriCorps



© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 03/13/13 04:13 PM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations