University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

March 13, 2014
Mindy Granley | UMD Office of Sustainability | 218 726-8198 | mgranley@d.umn.edu
Cindy Christian | Director | UMD Alworth Institute | 218-726-7753 | cmchrist@d.umn.edu
Kathryn Milun | Professor | UMD Sociology/Anthropology | 218 726-7071 | kmilun@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton | Communication Associate | External Affairs | 218 726-8830 | lmelton@d.umn.edu


World Water Week Events at UMD and Other Local Colleges Celebrate Fresh Water

DULUTH, MN – The University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Fond du Lac Community College, and the College of St. Scholastica are celebrating World Water Week with a series of events March 25–27 to raise awareness about the importance of fresh water and of Lake Superior as a source for Duluth’s drinking water.

World Water Week events: All events below are free and open to the public.

Tues., Mar. 25, in UMD Kirby Bus Hub, 10 am–2 pm:
The first 50 visitors to win a water-bottle toss game will receive an “I drink SUPERIOR water” reusable aluminum bottle. Tabling in Kirby Bus Hub regarding water, plastic bottles, and recycling awareness. League of Women Voters will also be registering voters at the various campuses.

Tues., Mar. 25, in UMD Library Rotunda - 4th floor, 2–3 pm:
“What Do I Do With This Stuff? A Guide to Putting Waste In The Right Placeh, by A.J. Axtell, environmental program coordinator at the Western Lake Superior Sanitary District

Wed., Mar. 26, College of St. Scholastica Science Auditorium, 7 pm:
“Bag It” film showing. Refreshments to follow.

Thurs., Mar. 27, in UMD Kirby Bus Hub, 10–11 am:
The Magic Smelt Puppet Troupe will perform with a unique Lake Superior puppet from Duluth’s annual Smelt Festival Parade

Thurs., Mar. 27, in UMD Library Rotunda - 4th floor, 4 pm:
Dr. Lorena Rios Mendoza, UWS Chemistry professor will give a talk titled Microplastics in the Great Lakes: Is it an issue?

Events were organized and supported by: UMD Cultural Studies Program, UMD Alworth Institute, UMD Office of Sustainability, and League of Women Voters




UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 03/14/14 07:45 AM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations