University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

April 29, 2014
Richard Gran | Assistant Professor, Physics | 218 726-7096| rgran@d.umn.edu
Alec Habig | Professor, Physics | 218 726-7214 | ahabig@d.umn.edu
Cheryl Reitan | Associate Director, External Affairs | 218-726-8996 | creitan@d.umn.edu


UMD Joins Fermilab in International Neutrino Collaboration: Document Outlines Details

A new book on Fermilab's Long-Baseline Neutrino Experiment (LBNE) covers the experiment's scientific program and its current state of technical development and planning. University of Minnesota Duluth Professor Alec Habig, Associate Professor Richard Gran, and a graduate student, all in the UMD Department of Physics, are involved in the LBNE experiment.

The comprehensive 300-page document, "Long-Baseline Neutrino Experiment: Exploring Fundamental Symmetries of the Universe," presents the science program planned for Fermilab's flagship experiment. It shares the grand vision for the science of LBNE, its potential for transformative discovery, its current advanced state of technical development and planning, and its alignment with the national high-energy physics program. The document is written in language accessible to the nonscientist and highlights important take-away points.

Once the experiment is constructed, the LBNE beamline will send an intense neutrino beam 800 miles from Fermilab to a massive detector in Lead, SD. Using the world's most intense neutrino beam and largest underground cryogenic particle detector, LBNE will explore the origin of the matter-antimatter asymmetry in the universe, probe the stability of the proton, stand ready to witness the birth of a black hole or neutron star from a core-collapse supernova in the Milky Way, and search for new physics in unexplored regions.

UMD has been a partner in Fermilab's work with neutrinos since 2000.

Read the document and more here.




UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 04/29/14 11:07 AM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations