University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

May 2, 2013
Chris Julin | Instructor, Writing Studies | 218-726-7072 | cjulin@d.umn.edu
John Hatcher |Assistant Professor, Writing Studies | 218- 726-7325 | jhatcher@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton | Communication Associate, External Affairs | 218-726-8830 | lmelton@d.umn.edu


"Roots of Rescue"

UMD Graduates' Documentary Premiers in Duluth
Duluth, MN - "Roots of Rescue," a documentary by two UMD alumnus about dog rescue efforts in Alabama, debuts in Duluth this week.

The premiere takes place at the Zinema, 222 E. Superior Street, on Sunday, May 5 at 5 p.m. Tickets are $15.

UMD is hosting a free screening on Tuesday, May 7 at 3:30 p.m. in Life Sciences, room 175. The May 7 event features a question and answer session with the filmmakers and an opportunity to meet one of the dogs the filmmakers brought back from Alabama.

More information about the film can be found at rootsofrescue.com.

The filmmakers, David Cowardin and Joe Olivieri, raised $10,000 on Kickstarter plus an additional $4,000 in donations to finance the film, which allowed them to work in two stints: first traveling to Alabama in January, 2012 for two weeks and returning in May and June that same year to finish the project.

"Roots of Rescue" takes viewers along for the ride as Cowardin and Olivieri make a transformational road trip to Alabama with the mission of uncovering dog abuse that Cowardin had heard about. Instead, they are taken in by a network of dog rescuers, a group that becomes the focus of the film. "This isn't a film about dog fighting. It's a documentary about this incredible group of people who are trying to change a culture of animal abuse in Alabama," explains Cowardin.

"Roots of Rescue" is Cowardin and Olivieri's first full-length documentary. They're now focusing on its distribution.



UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 05/02/13 02:28 PM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations