University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

March 4, 2013
Mindy Granley | Sustainability Coordinator | 218 726-8198 | mgranley@d.umn.edu
John King | Facilities Management Director | 218 726-8821 | jking@d.umn.edu
John Weiske | Housing Director | 218 726-6768 | jweiske@d.umn.edu
Cheryl Reitan | Associate Director of External Affairs | 218 726-8996 | creitan@d.umn.edu


UMD's Receives Fifth LEED Certification for Ianni Hall

Duluth, MN The University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD), earned its fifth LEED certification from the U.S. Green Building Council for Lawrence A. Ianni Hall. Opened in fall 2011, the residence hall received Silver LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) status.

Ianni Hall is seven-floor, 74,000 square feet building which houses 280 students. It includes energy efficient opening windows, and substantial insulation. Ianni Hall's water usage was reduced 38 percent through Irrigation reduction, low-flow fixtures, and motion activated faucets.The rocks used to build the fireplace in the lounge were collected along the North Shore from Silver Bay to Grand Marais. Ianni Hall is also illuminated using high efficiency T5 fluorescent light fixtures. Occupancy sensors in both common areas and residences turn off the lights automatically if rooms are not in use.

Other LEED buildings at UMD are the Bagley Classroom, (Platinum), the Life Science building, (Silver), Labovitz School of Business and Economic, (Gold), and Swenson Civil Engineering building, (Gold).

LEED is an internationally recognized program that offers third-party certification of buildings sustainable features. The rating system has four levels: certified, silver, gold and platinum, with platinum being the highest.

For more information about UMD's sustainabiity efforts and LEED status, see. http://www.d.umn.edu/sustain/green_buildings/index.html



UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 03/04/13 09:46 AM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations