University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

March 28, 2013
Cheryl Reitan | Associate Director | External Affairs | 218-726-8996 |
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann | Communication Associate | External Affairs | 218 726-7111 |

UMD's 2012-13 Chancellor Awards: Albert Tezla Teacher/Scholar Award and Outstanding Faculty Advisor Awards

DULUTH, MN – Eun-Kyung Suh, associate professor, Department of Art and Design, School of Fine Arts, is the recipient of the 2012-13 Albert Tezla Teacher/Scholar Award. This award is given annually to a faculty member in the College of Liberal Arts or the School of Fine Arts who has an exceptional and effective teaching style that emphasizes the worth of research in a learned discipline and the maturing impact scholarly activity has on the development of human attitudes and values.

The Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award is given each year to faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding service to their students. This year's recipients are: Dana Collins, assistant professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, College of Education and Human Services Professionals; Jennifer Liang, associate professor, Department of Biology, Swenson College of Science and Engineering; Jeff Maahs, associate professor, Sociology/Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts; Sara Pitterle, instructor, Marketing, Labovitz School of Business and Economics; and Jennifer Webb, associate professor, Department of Art and Design, School of Fine Arts.

These faculty members, along with Lyle Shannon, instructor in the Department of Biology and recipient of the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching; Steve Colman, director of the Large Lakes Observatory and recipient of the Chancellor's Award for Distinguished Research; and Ladona Tornabene, associate professor in the Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation and recipient of the Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Public Service, will be honored at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 7 at 2:30 pm in the Kirby Rafters.

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]