University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

May 8, 2012
Lita Wallace | Wellness Coordinator | 218 726-7822 | lwallace@d.umn.edu
Cheryl Reitan | Associate Director of External Affairs | 218 726-8996 | creitan@d.umn.edu
Christiana Kapsner | UMD Public Relations Assistant | 218 726-8830 | ckapsner@d.umn.edu


UMD Bike/Walk to Work Day

Faculty and staff pledging for good health and a greener environment
UMD is holding its third annual Bike/Walk to Work Day on Friday, May 18, and joins the Twin Ports for its Bike to Work Day on the same date. The city and campus are working together in the community to promote cycling and walking as a fun, healthy, and sustainable transportation choice. The Duluth/Superior Bike to Work Day will have stations in Superior and Duluth, and the UMD station is located at the Kirby Bus Hub.

"When employees register to participate in this healthy event," said Lita Wallace, Wellness Coordinator of the Department of Human Resources and Equal Opportunity. "They are pledging to make at least one trip by pedal power, or by foot. It's about good health, but it's also about taking care of the environment."

Last year, the scheduled campus bike and walk totaled 89.54 miles among the 20 participants. Mindy Granley, the sustainability coordinator, calculated that the event prevented 80.2 pounds of greenhouse gas emissions from entering the atmosphere (based on the Cool Air Clean Planet Calculator, V6.6).

Pre-register to participate: Registration form for Bike/Walk to Work Day

Schedule of Events for UMD participants on Friday, May 18

7:30 a.m. - 8:00 a.m.
Bikers and Walkers: Sign-in at Kirby Bus Hub
Enter in a drawing
Enjoy a smoothie made with a Bike Blender

8:05 a.m. - 8:20 a.m.
Group photo of participants & committee members (outside Kirby Bus Hub)

8:20 a.m.
Breakfast at Griggs Center for participants

9:00 - 10:00 a.m.
Workshops (open to all employees)
• 9:00 - 9:20 - Wellness Points Bank - Bicycle Commuter Program Info Session
• 9:20 - 9:40 - Bike Safety
• 9:40 - 10:00 - Winter Biking
• 8:00 - 9:00 or until gone - Enjoy a smoothie made with a Bike Blender! (open to all faculty and staff)

Time/Location: to be announced later Bike to Work Day Fair (open to all faculty, staff and students)

UMD: Bicycle Parking Map, Regulations, & Bicycle Storage Locker

The Twin Ports Bicycle Station is located at the Minnesota Power Plaza, as well as a variety of other locations throughout the area.

For location information, see: http://www.dsmic.org/default.asp?PageID=951

Twin Ports Contact: James Gittemeier jgittemeier@ardc.org



UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Gina Katzmark, Director of External Affairs, 218-726-6141, katzmark@d.umn.edu
Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 05/08/12 04:27 PM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations