University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

December 7, 2012
Christiana Kapsner | UMD Public Relations Associate | 218 726-8830 | ckapsner@d.umn.edu
Joseph Maiolo | UMD English professor | 218 726-8226 | jmaiolo@d.umn.edu


Holiday Reading by Local Author

For many years author and UMD English Professor Joseph Maiolo has brightened the holiday season with his annual reading of Truman Capote's "A Christmas Memory."

Join Maiolo with his second annual reading of one of his short stories, "Saint Matthew In Appalachia," on Wednesday, December 12 at 3:30 p.m. in the Weber Music Hall at UMD.

The setting of the story begins when World War II has just ended. The fictional Virginia town where the main character lives is similar to Norton, Virginia, where Maiolo was raised. The cast of characters is a group of residents in the town, local friends and complete strangers. A young boy is the narrator, and he lives with his Italian grandmother in an apartment above a store on Main Street.

This event is free and open to the public with a reception after the reading. Overcoat Books will present two new collections of Maiolo's stories.



UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 12/07/12 08:47 AM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations