University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

June 1, 2011
Cheryl Reitan | Interim director | UMD Public Relations and Marketing | 218 726-8996 |
Charlene Brown | UMD Library Communications | 218 726-8539 |

UMD Alumni NEMBA Award Winners

Presented by the University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) Library, Lake Superior Writers, and Friends of Duluth Public Library, the Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA) were announced Thursday, May 19, 2011. Five authors were selected as winners and five were presented with an honorable mention. Two of the authors are alumni of UMD: Dennis Herschbach and Rudy Senarighi.

Dennis Herschbach graduated from the college of liberal arts with a bachelor of science, focusing mainly on general science. He won the NEMBA award for the memoir/creative nonfiction category with his book "Brown Sugar Syrup and Jack Pine Sand." The NEMBA judges describe this book as "An intimate portrait of Herschbach's early childhood in Blackberry, Minnesota. The struggles of his family and community illustrate many of the positive values that characterize northeastern Minnesota."

Rudy Senarighi graduated with a master of arts in educational psychology at UMD, having received his bachelor of science, with an emphasis on industrial education, from UMD as well. He was presented with an honorable mention for the memoir/creative nonfiction category with his book "Tales From the Creel." This self-published book is a series of vignettes illustrating lessons learned while being immersed in nature.

Additional NEMBA Information

NEMBA was established in 1988 to recognize books that substantially represent northeastern Minnesota in the areas of history, culture, heritage, or lifestyle.
Prizes are currently awarded in six categories: (1) General Nonfiction (2) Fiction (3) Art, Photography (4) Children's Literature (5) Poetry, and (6) Memoir and Creative Nonfiction.

The winning author in each category received a cash prize of $200. The winning author and the honorable mention in each category received a glass plaque as well as 150 NEMBA book seals.

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]