University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

May 5, 2010
Susan Beasy Latto, Director, UMD Public Relations 218 726-8830
Rajiv Vaidyanathan, Professor of Marketing & Director of MBA Programs 218 726-6817

UMD Marketing Students Take Third Place in
District Eight National Student Advertising Competition
UMD is the Only Team to Win Three Separate Awards

Iconic Advertising, a team of marketing students from the UMD Labovitz School of Business and Economics (LSBE), took Third Place in the District 8 National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC) held in Minneapolis on Saturday, May 1, beating out perennial powerhouses such as the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities.

The UMD team, consisting of students from the ADMAR club, was also the only one to walk away from the district competition with three separate awards. In addition to their overall Third Place award, the team won the "Best Media Strategy & Execution" award and one of the team members, Anthony Aguirre, won the award for "Best Male Presenter."

Iconic Advertising marketing team.
UMD Winning Marketing Team Presenters (from left to right are)
Grant Olson, Alyssa Nelson, Kendall Dole, Rachel Blais, and Anthony Aguirre
Anthony Aguirre.
UMD Marketing Team Student, Anthony Aguirre,
won the award for "Best Male Presenter"
(pictured here with a contest judge)

For their presentation, the LSBE students prepared a comprehensive integrated marketing communications plan for State Farm Insurance. The team consisted of marketing students from LSBE and art and design students from the UMD School of Fine Arts. Faculty advisors are Professor Rajiv Vaidyanathan and Instructor John Kratz.

The 8th District competition included teams representing universities in Minnesota, Wisconsin, and South Dakota.

The National Student Advertising Competition is sponsored by the American Advertising Federation (AAF). It is the world's largest advertising pitch with over 150 colleges and universities representing 15 districts.

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]