University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

April 22, 2009
Susan Beasy Latto, Director, UMD Public Relations 218 726-8830
Eve A. Browning, Professor, Head, UMD Dept. of Philosophy; Director, UMD Honors Program 218 726-7850

UMD Students Inducted Into Mortar Board National Honor Society

Twenty-two UMD students will be inducted into membership in the Tau Delta chapter of the Mortar Board National Honor Society in a ceremony on April 23 at the Kitchie Gammi Club in Duluth.

Dan Turner, president-elect of Mortar Board National, will be present to conduct the installation and induction ceremonies. "Students are selected on the basis of scholarship, leadership, and service. These are outstanding individuals--some of the best and brightest students on the UMD campus," said Professor Eve Browning, Tau Delta Chapter advisor.

Mortar Board is a national honor society that recognizes college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Since its founding in 1918, the organization has grown from four founding chapters to 226 chartered collegiate chapters with nearly a quarter of a million initiated members across the nation. The Tau Delta chapter at UMD is beginning its inaugural year.

UMD students inducted into membership include:

  • Rebecca F Anderson
  • Victor De Meireles
  • Jeffrey M Dezelske
  • Katherine A Dhennin
  • David T Fechter
  • Anne E Haglund
  • Justin J Hauschild
  • Alyssa A Kics
  • Matthew J Lulay
  • Jennifer A McCabe
  • Katie A Miller
  • Stacy M Neumeister
  • Isaac Odim
  • Lynn M Owczarzak
  • Ericka J Panek
  • Michelle A Poirie
  • Stacey A Schmiesing,
  • Ellen G Skog
  • Michael J Sterns
  • Leah Tollefsen
  • Allison L Winkler
  • Sarah M Wotzka

Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community. Some notable Mortar Board members include former President Jimmy Carter, Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, Lance Armstrong and former Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor.

Learn more about Mortar Board at

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]