University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

February 2, 2006
Susan Beasy Latto, Director, UMD Public Relations (218) 726-8830,
Maryann Soleim, Associate Director, UMD University Relations and Development (218) 726-8993,

UMD Announces 2005-2006
Goldfine Scholarship Recipients

UMD Presents Awards to Ten Students

The University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) has announced the recipients of the 2005 2006 Beverly and Erwin Goldfine Scholarship for Academic Excellence. The scholarship program was established in 1987 and has since awarded 88 scholarships to outstanding UMD students. To this day the program continues to help UMD challenge students to pursue academic excellence and to reward deserving students for their achievements.

Goldfine Scholarship awardees with Chancelor Karthryn A. Marin and Veverly Betten Goldfine..

Erwin L. Goldfine was formerly president of Manley Management Co. in Duluth, and was a strong advocate of UMD throughout his career, serving on the University of Minnesota Board of Regents from 1975 to 1987. He was a member and chair of the Minnesota Higher Education Coordinating Board, and was elected to the Duluth Hall of Fame in 1991. Mr. Goldfine died on December 25, 2002.

Beverly Betten Goldfine has been active in the Duluth community for many years. She is past president of the Townview Improvement Corp., which build hundreds of units of low and moderate income housing for Duluth residents and a recipient of the national Leading Volunteer awards from President Ford for providing low income housing. She is a founder of the Duluth-Superior Community Foundation; and past president of the Temple Israel Sisterhood in Duluth. Beverly is a champion of the disadvantaged and a strong advocate for education and the arts throughout the community.

In May 1999, Beverly Betten Goldfine and Regent Emeritus Erwin L. Goldfine recieved degrees of doctor of laws, honoris causa from UMD.

This year the Goldfine Scholarship has been awarded to 10 UMD students who will receive $2,000 each toward their tuition. Candidates for this scholarship must be full time students in good academic standing and must have academic records that rank them in the top 5 percent of their class.

Below is a list of the 2005/2006 Goldfine Scholarship recipients, their hometowns and major field of study.

Name College Major Field of Study Hometown
Ashley L. Althoff LSBE marketing Eden Prairie, MN
Corie Ann Ekholm CSE chem. engr Nashwauk, MN
Rachel Marie Gilbertson CEHSP health education Nevis, MN
Brianna Lee Hassing CEHSP early child study Woodbury, MN
Lindsey Marie Koehler LSBE accounting New York Mills, MN
Jennifer Marie Lange CLA criminology Maple Grove, MN
Stacia A. McKee SFA theatre Marshall, MN
Alison N. Rouzer SFA stage mgmt. & design technology Pittsford, NY
Taryn McCall Runk CLA sociology Grand Forks, ND
Justin R. Zimpel CSE computer science Hinckley, MN

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]