University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

February 1, 2006
Susan Beasy Latto, Director, UMD Public Relations (218) 726-8830,
Maryann Soleim, Associate Director, UMD University Relations & Development (218) 726-8993,

UMD Announces FinnFest USA '92
Scholarship Awards for 2005-2006

New Scholarship Applicants Being Sought

The University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) has announced the recipients of the 2005 2006 FinnFest USA '92 Scholarship awards. A total of eighteen students were named.
Note: All recipients names and hometowns are listed at the bottom of this news release.

The FinnFest USA '92 Scholarship was established from the nearly $50,000 raised at FinnFest USA in July 1992. The organization has awarded 103 scholarships to outstanding UMD students since its creation in 1993.

FinnFest Scholarships are awarded to junior, senior, or graduate level students. Candidates must be enrolled full time at UMD, and must be able to demonstrate financial need (have FAFSA papers on file). Grade point average will also be considered. Transfer students may also apply. Preference will be given to students of Finnish heritage and those from NE Minnesota or NW Wisconsin. A transcript must accompany all applications.

New scholarship applicants are currently being sought.
To request information contact:
Maryann Soleim, University of Minnesota Duluth,
315 Darland Administration Building, 1049 University Drive, Duluth, MN 55812
(218) 726-8993 or

Gifts to the FinnFest Scholarship Fund may be directed to:
UMD Development Office,
315 Darland Administration Building,
1049 University Drive,
Duluth, MN 55812.

Questions about applications or contributions should be directed to
Maryann Soleim at (218) 726-8993.

Recipients names listed below:
FinnFest USA '92 /UMD Scholarship Recipients and their hometowns

Names Hometown
Kai Westeri Bowen Ely, MN
Jacob James Niemela Brooklyn Park, MN
Mary Elizabeth Cianni Chisholm, MN
Lynda Olson* Biwabik, MN
Cassandra Lee Davison Dassel, MN
Megan Eidenschink Detroit Lakes, MN
Kelsey Jokela Paxson Cannon Falls, MN
Nicholas Laine Eidenschink Detroit Lakes, MN
Lindsay Rantala Duluth, MN
Rachelle A. Erickson Virginia, MN
Amy Ruuska Maple Grove, MN
Alison Marie Hietala Hibbing, MN
Matthew Tomsich Ely, MN
Krystal Kivisto Ironwood, MI
Philip Tomsich* Ely, MN
Eden Leone* Duluth, MN
Aaron Mertes Duluth, MN
Merry Morud Red Wing, MN

*renewal from last year

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]