University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

October 5, 2005
Susan Beasy Latto, Director of UMD Public Relations 218-726-8830 slatto@d.umn.edu
Casey LaCore, UMD Darland Connection and Office of Civic Engagement 218-726 7125 clacore@d.umn.edu
Lynn Bye, Associate Professor, UMD Department of Social Work 218-726-8492 lbye@d.umn.edu
John and Holiday Hays, Parents and FASD Specialists, 218 969-2116 or 218 376-4501 hayskids@frontiernet.net


UMD Presents Premiere Showing of Film
"Pathways to Understanding: Raising Children with
Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder - A Seminar with John Hays"
October 12
7 p.m.


Members of the community interested in Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) are invited to preview a one-hour film entitled "Pathways to Understanding: Raising Children with FASD - A Seminar with John Hays", October 12 at 7 p.m. in the UMD Weber Music Hall. A 6:15 p.m. reception with refreshments will precede the film showing. The public is cordially invited.

The film was developed by Bill Payne, Associate Professor in the UMD Department of Theatre, in conjunction with John and Holiday Hays, founders of the Hayskids Foundation. John and Holiday Hays have adopted 13 children, 10 of whom have been diagnosed with FASD. They live in Cook, Minnesota.

Hays family.

The film provides important information on ways to cope with the challenges associated with raising children with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder. After viewing the video, members of the audience will walk away with specific parenting techniques that can be used to improve the quality of life for the children with FASD and their families.

The event is free and the public is cordially invited.

The UMD College of Education and Human Service Professions and the Children, Youth and Family Consortium are co-sponsors of the event.

For more information contact:
Casey Lacore at 218-726-7125 or email: clacore@d.umn.edu




UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Gina Katzmark, Director of External Affairs, 218-726-6141, katzmark@d.umn.edu
Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 05/13/11 09:32 AM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations