University of Minnesota Duluth
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

May 13, 2005
Susan Beasy Latto, Director, UMD Public Relations, (218) 726-8830,
Kjell R Knudsen, Dean, UMD Labovitz School of Business & Economics, (218) 726-7288,
Alan Roline, Head, UMD Department of Accounting (218) 726-8550,

UMD Labovitz School of Business and Economics
Names Top Business Students
to International Honor Society

The UMD Labovitz School of Business and Economics (LSBE) congratulates the 39 students who have accepted invitations into Beta Gamma Sigma membership. Only business students who earn the distinction of "The Best in Class" during their academic careers can claim membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. Beta Gamma Sigma is the business school equivalent of Phi Beta Kappa in liberal arts education.

Approximately 6% of all business graduates worldwide are inducted into lifetime membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. Students ranking in the top 7 percent of the junior class, top 10 percent of the senior class, and top 20 percent of master's programs at schools accredited by AACSB International -The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International, are eligible for this invitation to honor society membership. There are approximately 1200 business schools worldwide, and only 480 are accredited by AACSB.

Beta Gamma Sigma membership is an international honor. These outstanding LSBE students have received the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in an undergraduate or masters program at a school accredited by AACSB International.

Beta Gamma Sigma was founded as a national organization in 1913. Its mission is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business and personal and professional excellence in the practice of business. The Society endeavors to foster in its members an enduring commitment to the principles and values of Beta Gamma Sigma: honor and integrity, pursuit of wisdom and earnestness.

The following students were inducted into the UMD Labovitz School of Business and Economics Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma at a reception and dinner ceremony held at the Kitchi Gammi Club in Duluth, Minnesota on Friday, April 8, 2005.



Graduate Students

UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]

UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use

Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996,
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140,
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115,
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858,
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111,
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830,
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798,

© 2015 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 05/13/11 09:32 AM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations