University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

January 18, 2005
Susan Beasy Latto, Director, UMD Public Relations (218) 726-8830,
Maryann Soleim, Associate Director, UMD University Relations and Development (218) 726-8993,

UMD Announces 2004-2005
Goldfine Scholarship Recipients

UMD Presents Awards to Ten Students

The University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) has announced the recipients of the 2004 2005 Beverly and Erwin Goldfine Scholarship for Academic Excellence. This scholarship program was established in 1987 and has since awarded 81 scholarships to outstanding UMD students. To this day the program continues to help UMD challenge students to pursue academic excellence and to reward deserving students for their achievements.

Erwin L. Goldfine was formerly president of Manley Management Co. in Duluth, and was a strong advocate of UMD throughout his career, serving on the University of Minnesota Board of Regents from 1975 to 1987. He was a member and chair of the Minnesota Higher Education Coordinating Board, and was elected to the Duluth Hall of Fame in 1991. Mr. Goldfine died on December 25, 2002.

Beverly Betten Goldfine has been active in the Duluth community for many years. She is past president of the Townview Improvement Corp., which build hundreds of units of low and moderate income housing for Duluth residents and a recipient of the national Leading Volunteer awards from President Ford for providing low income housing. She is a founder of the Duluth-Superior Community Foundation; and past president of the Temple Israel Sisterhood in Duluth. Beverly is a champion of the disadvantaged and a strong advocate for education and the arts throughout the community.

In May 1999, Beverly Betten Goldfine and Regent Emeritus Erwin L. Goldfine recieved degrees of doctor of laws, honoris causa from UMD.

This year the Goldfine Scholarship has been awarded to 10 UMD students who will receive $1,500 each toward their tuition. Candidates for this scholarship must be full time students in good academic standing and must have academic records that rank them in the top 5 percent of their class.

Below is a list of the Goldfine Scholarship Recipients.

Jessica Kay Blake Willmar, MN 56201 Art Education West Central Tribune
Kari Ann Paynter Ironwood, MI 49938 Communication Sciences & Disorders The Daily Globe
Carrie Ann Erickson Hermantown, MN 55811 Accounting Hermantown Star
Mark Horlocker Duluth, MN 55802 Environmental Studies Duluth News Tribune
Callie Gospeter Mankato, MN 56001 Psychology Mankato Free Press
Alison Rouzer Pittsford, NY 14534 Stage Management & Design Technology Brighton-Pittsford Post
Ashley Althoff Eden Prairie, MN 55344 Marketing Sun Current
Andrew Cumings Fargo, ND 56560 Art History & French  
Bonnie Rae Folkestad Duluth, MN 55802 Spanish & English Duluth News Tribune
Justin Zimpel Hinckely, MN 55037 Computer Science  

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]