University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

May 10, 2003
Susan Beasy Latto, Director of Public Relations (218) 726-8830
Kjell Knudsen, Dean, School of Business and Economics   (218) 726-7281
John Newstrom, Professor, Department of Management Studies   (218) 726-8499

UMD's Top Business Students
Invited to Join International Honor Society

The University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) School of Business and Economics congratulates the 34 students that have accepted invitations into Beta Gamma Sigma membership. Only business students who earn the distinction of "The Best in Class" during their academic careers can claim membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. Beta Gamma Sigma is the business school equivalent of Phi Beta Kappa in liberal arts education.

Approximately 6% of all business graduates worldwide are inducted into lifetime membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. Students ranking in the top 7 percent of the junior class, top 10 percent of the senior class, and top 20 percent of master's programs at schools accredited by the AACSB (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business) International, are eligible for this invitation to honor society membership. There are approximately 1200 business schools worldwide, and less than 375 are accredited by AACSB International.

Beta Gamma Sigma membership is truly an international honor, and these outstanding UMD students have received the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in an undergraduate or master's program at a school accredited by AACSB International.

Beta Gamma Sigma was founded as a national organization in 1913. Its mission is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business and personal and professional excellence in the practice of business. The society endeavors to foster in its members an enduring commitment to the principles and values of Beta Gamma Sigma: honor and integrity, pursuit of wisdom, and earnestness.

The following students were inducted into the UMD Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma at a reception and dinner ceremony on April 4, 2003. The reception was attended by faculty, students, parents, and guests.

Juniors Seniors
Saleh Bougary
Michael Boyer
Jill Bremmer
Angela Carlson
Rebecca Carlson
Nathan Cermak
Bethany Emerson
Eric Habben
Kayla Hertel
Larissa Holm
Stacy Long
Scott Melcher
Jacob Podobinski
Gail Renteria
Tisha Shepersky
Brent Smith
Rebecca Sommers
Jacob Stoecker
Adam Surma
Ariel Trusty
Lindsey Willers

Malita Barkataki
Reena Charadva
Nathan Freeman
Bethany Hammond
Michael Kokotovich
Mariia Kouznetsova
Christina Mann
Stephanie Newland
Sarah Spreiter
Alysia Vistad
Nils Wickman
Graduate Students
Debra Hurtig
William Parker

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]