University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

February 18, 2002
Susan Beasy Latto, Director of Public Relations 218 726-8830
Maryann Soleim, Assoc. Director, University Relations & Development 218 726-8993

UMD Announces FinnFest USA '92 Scholarship Awards for 2001-2002
Applicants Sought for 2002-2003 Scholarships

UMD has announced recipients of FinnFest USA '92 Scholarship Awards for the school year 2001-2002. Recipients are:

Kathryn Martel Helbacka - Duluth, MN
Melanie M. Morgan - Aitkin, MN and Duluth, MN
Matthew Hill - Phelps, WI and Duluth, MN
Jamie Lynn Niskala - Ely, MN and Duluth, MN
Amy Jennifer Isaacson - Moose Lake, MN and Duluth, MN
Derek D. Nyberg - Cromwell, MN and Duluth, MN
Carol Johnson - Wrenshall, MN and Duluth, MN
Krista Toumi - Duluth, MN
Jane Marie Kyllonen - Menahga, MN and Duluth, MN
Melanie Lynn Truda - Duluth, MN

To be eligible, applicants must be a full time UMD student (junior, senior or graduate level) in good academic standing. Preference will be given to students of Finnish heritage who have at least one ancestor who was an immigrant from Finland to the United States. Preference will also be given to students from Northeastern Minnesota or Northern Wisconsin. A total of fifty-three awards have been made since the scholarship was established in 1993.

To apply, or for more information contact: Maryann Soleim, at UMD University Relations & Development, 218 726-8993, (email)

Gifts to this scholarship may also be sent to Maryann Soleim at UMD University Relations & Development, 315 Darland Administration Building, 10 University Drive, Duluth, MN 55812.

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]