University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

December 9, 2002
Susan Beasy Latto, Director of UMD Public Relations 218 726-8830

UMD Chancellor Kathryn A. Martin Appointed to NCAA Division II Presidents Council

UMD Chancellor Kathryn A. Martin has been appointed an at-large member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II Presidents Council effective January 2003. The 13-member NCAA Presidents Council is made up of CEO's from Division II member colleges and universities and serves as the principal governing body for Division II athletics.

The Presidents Council oversees the Division II Management Council, which consists of 25 athletics administrators and faculty representatives from across the nation. NCAA legislation in Division II is considered and approved through a traditional one-school, one-vote process at the annual NCAA Convention. In this way, Division II institutions makes their own rules, independent of Division I and Division III.

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]