University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

February 20, 2001
Susan Beasy Latto, Director of Public Relations 218 726-8830
Maryann Soleim, Assoc. Director, University Relations & Development 218 726-8993

UMD Announces FinnFest USA '92 Scholarship Awards for 2000-2001
Applicants Sought for 2001-2002 Scholarships

UMD has announced recipients of FinnFest USA '92 Scholarship Awards for school year 2000-2001. Winners include:

Lucas E. Floyd Duluth and Ely, MN
Elizabeth Lynn Mead Duluth and Marshall, MN
Kathryn Martel Helbacka Duluth
Jamie Lynn Niskala Duluth and Ely , MN
Jane Marie Kyllonen Duluth and Menahga, MN
Melissa Pietila Duluth and Menahga, MN
Nathan Kowalsky Duluth and Nashwauk, MN
Paul D. Salo Duluth and Biwabik MN
Ryan McGill Duluth

To be eligible applicants must be full time UMD students (junior, senior or graduate level) in good academic standing. Preference will be given to students of Finnish heritage who have at least one ancestor who was an immigrant from Finland to the United States. Preference will also be given to students from Northeastern Minnesota or Northern Wisconsin. Forty-three awards have been made since the scholarship's creation in 1993.

To apply, or for more information contact: Maryann Soleim, at UMD University Relations & Development, 218 726-8993, (email)

Gifts to this scholarship may also be sent to Maryann Soleim at UMD University Relations & Development, 315 Darland Administration Building, 10 University Drive, Duluth, MN 55812.

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]