University of Minnesota Duluth
MyU | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 Strategic Planning

Strategic Planning Steering Committee and Executive Team

The 35-member Strategic Planning Steering Committee was broadly representative of the UMD campus community and provided overall guidance to the planning process during the 2010-11 academic year. Twelve members of this committee form an Executive Team (indicated by an asterisk and listed below) that provided initial consultation on many elements of the planning process.

  • Praveen Aggarwal, Professor and Head, Marketing*
  • Mary Cameron, Associate Director, Human Resources*
  • Steve Colman, Director, Large Lakes Observatory
  • Victor de Meireles, Student Association President*
  • Linda Deneen, Director, ITSS*
  • Jeni Eltink, Program Director, First Year Experience
  • Beth Esselstrom, Director, Admissions
  • Dennis Falk, Professor, Social Work and Faculty Fellow*
  • Greg Fox, Vice Chancellor, Finance and Operations
  • John Hamlin, Professor, Sociology-Anthropology and Chair,
  • Executive Committee of the Campus Assembly*
  • Kit Hautamaki, Administrative Director, University Relations
  • Caitlin Herby, Student Association, Campus Outreach Director
  • Gary Holquist, Head Coach, Basketball*
  • Jill Jenson, Associate Professor and Head, Writing Studies
  • John King, Director, Facilities Management*
  • Loretta Kragness, Buildings and Grounds Worker, Housing, Teamsters
  • Judith Kritzmire, Professor, Music*
  • Carmen Latterell, Associate Professor, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Vince Magnuson, Vice Chancellor, Academic Administration*
  • Jackie Millslagle, Interim Vice Chancellor, Academic Support and Student Life*
  • Mark Mizuko, Professor and Head, Communication Sciences and Disorders
  • Leigh Neys, Interim Director, International Education
  • Denise Osterholm, Lab Services Coordinator, Physics, AFSCME
  • Bill Payne, Associate Professor, Theatre
  • Gerald Pepper, Professor, Communications and Associate Dean, CLA
  • Michael Pfau, Associate Professor, Communication and UEA President-Elect
  • Lisa Pratt, Alumni Associate, University Relations
  • Jim Riehl, Dean, Swenson College of Science and Engineering*
  • Jeff Romano, Director, Bookstore
  • Andrea Schokker, Professor and Head, Civil Engineering and Vice Chair of Educational Policy Committee
  • Rick Smith, Director, American Indian Learning Resource Center
  • Corbin Smyth, Director, Kirby Student Center and Student Affairs Committee
  • Joyce Strand, Associate Professor and Head, Education and Executive Committee of the Campus Assembly*
  • Bedassa Tadesse, Associate Professor, Economics
  • Bill Wade, Vice Chancellor, University Relations

Strategic Planning Executive Team

  • Dennis Falk, Chair
    Praveen Aggarwal
    Mary Cameron
    Victor de Meireles
    Linda Deneen
    John Hamlin
    Gary Holquist
    John King
    Judith Kritzmire
    Vince Magnuson
    Jackie Millslagle
    Jim Riehl
    Joyce Strand


The Steering Committee and Executive Team provided overall guidance and initial consultation to the strategic planning process.

© 2017 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 10/25/11 03:53 PM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations