University of Minnesota Duluth
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

Heller Hall, c. 1965

Department of Geological Sciences

The Department of Geological Sciences occupies the first two floors of Heller Hall and has research labs and offices on the ground and first floor of Marshall W. Alworth Hall as well. The department is nationally recognized for its undergraduate program and its support of undergraduate research.

Department of Computer Science

The Department of Computer Science (on the third floor) offers programs leading to BS and MS degrees in computer science and the BS degree in Computer Information Systems. The undergraduate program in CS is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC) of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET), which is recognized by the Council on Higher Education Accreditation. The faculty has a strong commitment to undergraduate students and provides many opportunities for students to work on research projects with them or to intern with business and industry. Graduates of the department obtain jobs in industry, government, and education, or pursue graduate degrees at top research universities.

  • Many of the earth's recent large earthquakes have been detected and documented in the Geology Department's Seismic Lab. The display case on the main floor of Heller Hall shows the activity as it is detected.
  • The floor maps are 3D and can be viewed with special glasses. The smaller one clearly shows on the continents: ice covered areas, mountain ranges, deserts, vegetated regions and lakes. The oceans, stripped of water, show mountain belts and fracture/fault zones many of which mark plate boundaries. The larger map, in vivid colors, represents different levels of elevation and topography of the ocean floors.

Next Location

After you pass through Heller Hall, you will enter the first floor of the Kirby Student Center.

Tour Stops

Tour Home

  1. Solon Campus Center
  2. Darland Administration Building
  3. Chemistry Building
  4. School of Medicine
  5. Marshall W. Alworth Hall
  6. Swenson Science Building
  7. Life Science Building
  8. Heller Hall
  9. Kirby Student Center
  10. Residence Dining Center
  11. Housing
  12. Health Services
  13. Kirby Plaza
  14. Bohannon Hall
  15. Montague Hall
  16. Endazi-gikinoo'amaading
  17. Labovitz School of Business and Economics
  18. Library
  19. Swenson Civil Engineering Building
  20. Voss-Kovach Hall
  21. Engineering Building
  22. Visualization & Digital Imaging Lab
  23. Marshall Performing Arts Center
  24. Sports and Health Center
  25. Weber Music Hall
  26. Humanities Building
  27. A.B. Anderson Hall
  28. Tweed Museum of Art
  29. Cina Hall
  30. Chester Park
  31. Other Points of Interest


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 10/05/11 02:58 PM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations